John O’Groats to Lands End by Pedal Power – The Epilogue


www.wlwest.co.uk

As you have hopefully read in my previous posts, Gerard Magill, our timber buyer here at W L West & Sons Ltd, undertook to cycle from John O’Groats to Lands End with a group of friends. The trip was very successful. I wrote the previous blogs by gaining information from a closed Facebook page written by the support team using mobile apps. Gerard returned this Monday – Larger Legs – Hungry – and enjoying all of the rest he can get. I asked him to summarise his journey in his own words, the elements that I could not possibly write myself, so here is his summary of his 8 days of cycling.

There were some very hard times during the trip and some very good times.

Waking up each morning I often lay there wondering how on earth I was going to ride 120 miles that day.

Over nine days riding we averaged 16 mph over the day. Previously at home I’d been riding 50 miles at 14 mph so we were on a pretty rich pace, led by Mark and Neil, two very keen, fit (and younger) cyclists.

I hadn’t realised how important nutrition was. Eating late the night before meant we were pretty full in the morning but still managed to down a full English (Scottish / Welsh) Breakfast. Each hour we had to consume 90g of carbohydrate to maintain our calorie input, so our breaks were spent scoffing fruit, chocolate and energy drinks. Generally we had a late lunch after 70 miles and then had a three course meal in the evening. I still managed to lose a bit of weight and have been ravenous ever since completing the journey!!  Each day we were supported by Clare who was driving the Minibus with the bags, spares and food. She was magic and had a great gift for identifying what we needed before we did. It was like having our own personal Guardian Angel!

They were members of the group that I’d met just before leaving and spending such a lot of time together meant I get to know them pretty well in a short space of time. Luckily we had British humour to keep us going and the smiles took the stress out of the miles. After sharing a room with Mark one night he moaned that it had taken him over an hour to get to sleep. I mentioned that he was snoring after ten minutes and he replied that he did that because he didn’t want to talk to me!

Being 53 I feel that I have achieved something doing the ride, but I wasn’t sure what it was. I’d seen some beautiful countryside, met some wonderful people and been part of a great team. Then I discovered that I’ve raised nearly £1000 for the MS Society so a big THANK YOU to everyone for all of the sponsorship and donations. After that everything seemed to make sense, including sleeping on my tummy for a week!

Would I do it again? Well Dave West asked me that question when I returned to work and………. Yes, I would, I learnt a lot as it was the first JoG2LE trip that I have done, so I would make some changes in how I did it …. No good getting older if you don’t get wiser!!

Thank you Gerard and a very big congratulations to you and the rest of the team. I know that they all had their own charities and it is likely that the whole team have raise between £3000 and £4000, I think that deserves applause and a well earned rest, although I know it won’t be long before Gerard is back in the saddle.

If you would like to support Gerard’s charity, his Just Giving page is still open at: www.justgiving.com/Gerard-Magill

Don’t forget, for all of your hardwood and joinery softwood requirements…………………

Call our Sales team on 01798 861611 or email:sales@wlwest.co.uk

Leave a Reply

